2022 Award Winners Announced

Our Gala Awards Night took place on May 15th 2022 in the Teacher’s Club Main Hall.
Here are the nominees and winners of our 2022 Awards, celebrating excellence in LGBTQ+ theatre.

We would like to congratulate all nominees, award-winners and all of our participants who took part in Festival 2022.

Oscar Wilde Award Best Writing
Nominations: ‘Curiosity’ by Amanda Brunker IRL
‘Babies and Bathwater‘ by Amy Garner Buchanan AUS
‘What Doesn’t Kill You’ by James Hindman USA
‘The Silver Bell’ by Alan Flanagan IRL
Winner: Natalie Meisner for ‘Legislating Love’ CAN

Amy Dalton Award for Best Volunteer
Winner: David Eden, volunteer, CAN

Eva Gore Booth Award for Best performance in a Female identifying role
Nominations: Alix Bailey in ‘Who Pays The Bill?’ IRL
Amy Garner Buchanan in ‘Babies and Bathwater’ AUS
Joanne Callum Powers in ‘Miss Delta Township’ USA
Rachel Fayne, ‘Suzanne’, ‘The Death of Me’ IRL
Winner: Sorcha Furlong as ‘Martha’ in ‘Curiosity’ IRL

Micheál Mac Liammóir Award for Best performance in a male identifying role
Nominations: Les Kurkendall Barrett, ‘The Real Black Swann’ USA
James Hindman in ‘What Doesn’t Kill You’ USA
Joe Mac Dougall, various ‘Quickies from Provincetown’ USA
Jordan Payne Rhu in ‘333’ CAN
Winner: Brendan O’Rourke and Alan Flanagan, ‘The Silver Bell’ IRL/UK

Hilton Edwards Award for Best Aspect of Production
Nominations: ‘Miss Delta Township’ use of soundtrack USA
Gilly Pardy, Lighting ‘The Silver Bell’ IRL/UK
‘What Doesn’t Kill You’ – production values USA
‘Quickies from Provincetown’ Production values USA
Winner: Production, Performance, Lighting and Design ‘The Death of Me’ IRL

Sean Meehan Award for Identity Theatre
Nominations: Amanda Brunker bisexuality in ‘Curiosity’
Les Kurkendall Barrett race ‘The Real Black Swann’
Theatre Outre – lgbt history in ‘333’
Wallace Norman ‘Brother’s Keeper’ voice for the abused
Aerach Aiteach Gaelach LGBT+ themes in Irish language
Winner: Amy Garner Buchanan ‘Babies and Bathwater’ religion, patriarchy and control.

Patrick Murray Award for Best Contribution to Irish LGBT+ Theatre
Winner: ‘Street 66’ hosting, box-office facilities and always saying ‘yes’ to us! IRL

The Doric Wilson Award for Intercultural Dialogue
Nominations: Amanda Brunker ‘Curiosity’, female sexuality IRL
Lynda Sturner, ‘Look What You Made Me Do?’ Quickies from Provinceton, female domestic abuse USA
Alan Flanagan ‘The Silver Bell’, themes of loss IRL/UK
Wallace Norman, ‘Brother’s Keeper’, religious abuse USA
Winner: Les Kurkendall-Barrett – ‘The Real Black Swann’ racial histories USA

Congratulations all! And a big thank you to all of our 2022 participants.


Get the latest from the IDGTF to your inbox.